Home of Heroes is a reference site used by thousands of visitors every day to research military citation protocol, award recipient bios, stories of real heroes, and military history. Here you will find detailed information regarding the Medal of Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, Air Force Cross, Silver Star, Heroes Stories, Medals and Awards, and Flag of Freedom.  Home of Heroes is being continually updated for online visitors.  Recipients will be added in periodic updates when additional citations are received and confirmed.

Many visitors to our site find Interesting Facts For the Curious full of valuable information.

Below you will find quick links into the major sections of our site: Medal of Honor - Service Cross - Silver Star - Heroes Stories - Medals and Awards - Flag of Freedom.

Medal of Honor

There are over 3,519 Medal of Honor recipients in our database.

You can search this database by name, state, branch of service, or conflict.

Learn More

The Service Cross

There are 3 branches of distinction: Army, Navy, Air Force. Search the Home of Heroes database by war and conflict or name.

Learn More

Silver Star

The Silver Star Medal is the United States' third highest award exclusively for combat valor in all branches of service.

Learn More

The Flag of Freedom

This is a popular section on Home of Heroes describing the proper protocol for displaying and honoring the flag, as well as the evolution of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Learn More

Heroes Stories

This is our collection of stories compiled by Doug Sterner, former administrator of Home of Heroes and a Vietnam veteran and Military Times contributing editor.

Learn More

Military Awards and Medals

This is a pictorial collection of military medals and awards. Each branch of service has seven levels of medals and awards, known as the Pyramid of Honor.

Learn More

Celebrate Medal of Honor in March

The United States Congress has designated March 25th of each year as National Medal of Honor Day, a day dedicated to Medal of Honor recipients.  (Public Law 101-564) 

The date of March 25th was chosen to highlight this special day because it was on March 25, 1863, that the first Medals of Honor were presented to six members of Andrews' Raiders.