American Revolutionary War 

The American Revolutionary War (1775-1783), also known as the American Revolution, arose from growing tensions between residents of Great Britain's 13 North American colonies and the colonial government, which represented the British crown. On April 19, local militiamen clashed with British soldiers in the Battles of Lexington and Concord in Massachusetts, marking the "shot heard 'round the world" that signified the start of the American Revolutionary War.