Korean War - Service Cross

The Distinguished Service Cross has been in effect since April 6, 1917. However, under certain circumstances, the Distinguished Service Cross may be awarded for services rendered prior to April 6, 1917.

It is the highest U.S. Army award that can be awarded to civilians in service to the military or to foreign nationals.  Even in these cases, the criteria for award are the same.

Awarded to U.S. and foreign military personnel and civilians who have displayed extraordinary heroism in one of the following situations:

  1. While engaged in action against an enemy of the United States,
  2. While engaged in military operations involving conflict with a foreign force, or
  3. While serving with a friendly nation engaged in armed conflict against a force in which the United States is not a belligerent party.

There are over 1,000 recipients of the Distinguished Service Cross and Navy Cross during the Korean War.

Here is the breakdown -

Distinguished Service Cross

  • Army: 715
  • Air Force: 36
  • Navy: 3
  • Marine Corps: 27
  • Foreign Nationals: 13

Navy Cross

  • Marine Corps: 224
  • Navy: 42
  • Army: 3

Note: There is the chance that a valid recipient of the Military Cross may not be listed herein. Updates to correct any omissions will be made available from time to time.